United States Security Council Presidency December 2019

The UN Security Council was established by the UN Charter, and it’s primary responsibility is to work to maintain international peace and security. There are 193 members of the United Nations, and 15 members of the UN Security Council: the five permanent members (China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States) and 10 non-permanent members elected to two-year terms. For the month of September, the United States is serving as President of the Security Council, a position that rotates every month among the 15 Council members. As Security Council President, the United States will be responsible for setting the agenda for the month, organizing meetings, managing the distribution of information to Council members, issuing statements, and communicating the Council’s actions to the public.

December Program of Work

12/06/2019: Remarks at a UN Security Council Briefing on the UN Assistance Mission for Iraq (UNAMI)

12/02/2019: Remarks at a UN Security Council Press Stakeout following the Adoption of the December Program of Work